The island passed from Austria to the Kingdom of Yugoslavia after World War I, and then to the Independent State of Croatia (1941–1945). After the Second World War it returned to Yugoslavia and, when this broke up, it became part of the new state of Croatia. Unusually, the island is divided between two counties, with Novalja and Stara Novalja being part of the northern Lika-Senj County.

Book Transfer